Make your own instant porridge/oatmeal packets!

IMG_1958

For a long time I have been meaning to do this…

Firstly to save money  – the brand that we like to buy is over $6 for 8 serves, but has added pepita seeds and cinnamon etc.,  that makes them yummy.

Secondly – if I make our own I can control the sugar, and thus I can eat them again as I’m avoiding sugar (the ones we buy have sugar, honey and sultanas added, and 10gs of sugar per serve!).

You can read about the health benefits of oats here (http://www.uncletobys.com.au/health-and-nutrition/all-about-oats/). Adding the chia seeds, pepitas, nuts and coconuts adds more fiber , protein and also some good fats.

I made these mainly for the man to take to work, so I added about four sultanas per bag, and some stevia powder, if I eat them I don’t have the dried fruit or sweetener, but add some frozen berries when serving.

I prepare these individually into small snack size zip lock bags, and make them in a bowl at home, or a container at work. It is possible to combine every thing in a big container, and scoop a serving as needed.

This recipe is adapted from ‘The Yummy Life’ (http://www.theyummylife.com/Instant_Oatmeal_Packets), where you will find 12 flavor variations and instructions on how to turn these packets into ‘overnight oatmeal’, something that looks similar to bircher muesli.

You can use rolled oats or quick oats, the added bran and chia seeds will make up for some of the goodness lost in the processing of the quick oats. I use the ‘secret’ revealed here (http://www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com/2012/10/the-secret-to-making-homemade-instant-oatmeal-packets.html).

IMG_1900IMG_1901IMG_1903

I process some of the oats, to make the end product creamier. I made enough for 10 packets, which is 3 cups, so I processed 1 cup until fine and mix it back with the rest of the oats (this is what I call oat mix).

IMG_1899

Ingredients -per package

1/3 cup of oat mix

2 tsp of milk powder ( skim, full fat, or even protein powder)

1 tsp of chia seeds

2 tsp of oat bran

1/8 tsp of cinnamon

pinch of salt

Optional

sweetener of your choice, I added 1/4 of tsp of stevia powder ( if you don’t have a problem with sugar, any dry type will work or add liquid when serving)

1 heaped tsp of shredded coconut

1 tsp of pepita seeds

1 walnut crumbled per packet

To assemble:

Simple add ingredients to a ‘snack’ size zip-lock bag.

IMG_1905IMG_1907

Steps to heat:

1.Tip packet into bowl or container

IMG_1955

2. Add about 3/4 cup of water (you could use milk but you all ready have the milk powder in the mix). Stir to combine).

3.Microwave on high for 1 minutes, stir and microwave for a further minute. Stir, stand to cool enough to eat (times may vary according to microwave, if you use whole rolled oats you will need to cook for 3 minutes.

IMG_1957

I have only ever made them this way, but if using quick oats, you  can make this by simply adding 2/3 of cup of boiling water, stirring and letting stand for a few minutes until thickened.

Don’t be afraid if it seems a little runny, it will thicken after standing.

Txx

IMG_1908

 

Leave a comment