Sugar free Chocolate, Berry, Coconut Treat

IMG_1878

So I’m trying to limit sugar in my diet.  I have been dabbling in this for about a month, but have really been doing properly for a fortnight (since my last supper of sugar).

I’m reading ‘Sweet Poison’ by David Gillespie (http://sweetpoison.com.au)  and also have been reading Sarah Wilson’s (I Quit Sugar, http://www.sarahwilson.com.au/, ) blog . These writers and all the ‘no sugar’ movement is based on this theory – Basically,  we have only been eating  added sugar ( and thus excess fructose)  for a very short period of time, from an evolutionary perspective. The excess amount of sugar we eat is related to a whole host of health problems, including obesity. Specifically, Fructose, one of the types of sugar available in our diet is the main problem. For more info please see their websites.

They aren’t doctors and neither am I, do your own research before going down this ‘diet’ route.

But, how do I feel? Has it been hard? Have I lost weight???

Honestly I feel pretty good! Instead of sugar or sugary things, I have been eating more good fats, protein, veggies, and non-white carbs.

So, although I miss some things, I can have some really yummy things – olive oil, avocado, coconut oil and other coconut products, eggs, and in smaller amounts butter, full fat dairy and bacon!!!

I don’t get hungry between meals , so I don’t snack as much as I did before, and I don’t any energy highs and lows.

I’m losing weight relatively easily (I have been exercising everyday, but not excessively, about 30 minutes only).

I haven’t done the full ‘quitting’ thing, where you cut out all sugars (dairy, carbs, fruits, sugar alternatives, and table sugar) for a period of time, but I have cut out any added sugar and limited fruit. This means no sweet spreads, juice, soft drinks, and sauces. To do, this I generally have to make everything I eat. This has lead to me being much more organized than I have been before! Today I made breakfasts, lunches and snacks for the next few days!

You do miss desserts, candies, chocolates etc.

So I looked at some of the recipes available on Sarah’s site and this caught my eye (http://www.sarahwilson.com.au/2012/04/my-sugar-free-raspberry-ripe-2/)

It is really a homemade, berry coconut chocolate bar!!

It uses berries, which are a relatively low fructose fruits and rice malt syrup, which again is a fructose free sweeter (it has a flavor and consistency similar to honey).

This needs to be kept in the freezer, don’t be tempted to kept it in the fridge or at room temp, it will melt and separate.

Sarah Wilson’s Raspberry Ripe

1/3 to 1/2 a cup of coconut oil

1/3 cup of salted butter ( use salted, it brings out the choc flavor)

1/3 cup of shredded or flaked coconut

1/3 cup of frozen raspberries ( I had to add about a tbs of mixed berries, as I was down to my last raspberries

2 tbs of cocoa  or raw cacao if you have it

Steps:

1.Melt the butter and oil (in a pan or microwave…the oil takes longer to melt so add the butter a little after).4

IMG_1874

2. Stir in the cacao and syrup.

IMG_1875

3. Arrange the berries and coconut on a sheet of baking paper on a baking tray or plate (a dinner plate is ideal – the slight indent creates a good shape, reserve some coconut to sprinkle on top).

IMG_1873

4. Pour the coconut oil mixture over the top and pop in the freezer for about an hour.

IMG_1877

5. When firm either break into shards or cut into wedges. Store in a sealed container in the freezer.

Due to the coconut oil, and intense cocoa flavor, it’s fairy moorish, though only slightly sweet. You won’t scoff it all, and you won’t feel horrible after eating it.

It is a beautiful thing

Tx.

Leave a comment