Using up Kale

I had half a bag of baby kale left over from last night and needed something to do with it. I used some on a tuna sandwich, which was quite nice, but only used up a little.

I remembered seeing ‘kale chips’ on some Paleo sites in the past. So I searched for some recipes and found plenty. Some people gushed that they tasted ‘so much like potato chips’, and that they were a healthy way to satisfy those salty/crunchy cravings.

Well I love potato chips, but I don’t keep them in house or else they will get all eaten….by me and there goes 200 calories. Here is my attempt.

Ingredients for about 2 cups after cooking

half a bag of baby kale (Woolworths carries this, please use other any kale you can find)

about a tablespoon of good olive oil

sea salt flakes (or other salt)

Heat oven to 180c. Line a baking tray with baking paper. Mix kale with oil in a bowl, and lay out in a single layer on tray. Bake for about 10 -15 minutes. Kale should be dry and crunchy, can can take it further until the edges brown if you wish. Place in bowl and mix in sea salt to taste.

Image

Well,  I can’t say they were as goods as potato chips, but they did hit the crunchy/salty spot. They were as nice as other vegetable chips I’ve had. I think they are a good way to get a few more greens into the kids or man child in your life.

Next time I will try some different seasonings.

Have a Great Day!!

Leave a Reply

