Pumpkin Soup

Once again I have failed to avoid carbs for dinner! The other day my best friend made me some really good, classic, old fashion pumpkin soup, it reminded me of my dad’s. I’m not good with soups, my other half, who usually likes my cooking has been critical of soups I have made in the past (scoring a 2 on his ‘Master Chef’ scale). So I really wanted to have a go at soup again, I think that my $10 hand blender may have be what caused the soup failures in the past. This is, like my friend’s, a classic pumpkin soup, however I roasted the veg first.  It was delicious, but after the success of this soup next time I might spice it up with some cumin and coriander, or some curry paste!

Image

Ingredients:

1 liter chicken stock (I used brought, homemade would be better)

1 whole butternut pumpkin

1 leek

1 red onion

2 cloves of garlic

2 potatos

good olive oil

Image

  1. Peel and cut pumpkin and potato into chunks
  2. Place in roasting pan with a drizzle of olive oil, and roast at 200c for about half an hour
  3. Meanwhile chopped leek, onion and garlic and then saute with a little olive oil in a large pot, until translucent
  4. Add pumpkin and potato to the onion mixture, add the stock and bring to the boil

Let simmer until vegetables are tender. I cooked them until I was able to use a masher to crush the veg to help my cheapo blender, and then blended to smooth

I served with a swirl of lite cream, chopped parsley and toast, but croutons or bacon bits would be delicious and add some texture.

IMG_1085

One thought on “Pumpkin Soup

Leave a Reply

